Which oral vitamin D products are suitable for people with vegetarian or vegan diets?

Varinder Rai, Regional Medicines Information Manager, London Medicines Information ServiceSource UKMiPublished

This page provides information on whether various vitamin D products (either for prescription or for purchase) are suitable for vegans or vegetarians to use.

This updated Medicines Q&A includes information from manufacturers regarding the suitability of vitamin D products (mainly licensed products and nutritional supplements) for vegans and vegetarians.

Some vitamin D supplements available for purchase are included in this update. These are not recommended for routine prescribing in primary care and healthcare professionals may be asked for advice on suitable options for purchase.