dm+d

71516007

Articles

Choosing a calcium and vitamin D preparation for vegetarians or vegans

6 July 2021This article explains how the source of vitamin D, or the inactive ingredients (excipients), may make preparations unsuitable for vegetarians or vegans.

Vitamin D: Is there a licensed product suitable for a patient with peanut or soya allergy?

23 September 2020This document contains a table giving information from the manufacturers regarding the peanut or soya content of their licensed vitamin D products at the time…

Which oral vitamin D products are suitable for people with vegetarian or vegan diets?

27 December 2019This page provides information on whether various vitamin D products (either for prescription or for purchase) are suitable for vegans or vegetarians to use.
Search Articles

Lactation Safety Information

See ergocalciferol, colecalciferol

See ergocalciferol, colecalciferol
Yes
Pharmacological forms of vitamin D include colecalciferol and ergocalciferol, which are naturally occurring and are converted to the active form, calcitriol. Synthetic analogues include alfacalcidol, dihydrotachsterol and paricalcitol. See separate ent
31 July 2020

Calciferol, vitamin D2

Calciferol, vitamin D2
Yes
Used in full-term neonates from birth
Ergocalciferol is converted in liver to 25-hydroxyergocalciferol which is converted in kidneys to 1,25-dihydroxyergocalciferol, an active form of vitamin D
Prevention of maternal vitamin D deficiency with doses of up to 400 units (10 micrograms) daily are considered safe with breastfeeding
Pharmacological doses (normally from 10,000 units daily) in the mother should be avoided if possible. If clinically necessary monitor infant’s calcium levels
31 July 2020