Excipients: What are the general considerations for vegan patients?

Excipients are used in the manufacture of medicines for various purposes and may be derived from animals. It may not be obvious from the Summary of Product Characteristics or Patient Information Leaflet which excipients are animal-derived.

The manufacturer can be contacted for information regarding the suitability of the product for vegans, although they may not be able to guarantee or differentiate the specific sources of animal-derived ingredients.

Veganism avoids using animals ‘as far as is practicable and possible’ and sometimes there are no alternatives to prescription medicines containing animal-derived ingredients.

MedicineQ&A

Attachments